Recovering Lost Wages and Income After a Car Accident

Recovering Lost Wages and Income:
Understanding Your Rights in Florida

Being involved in a car accident is stressful and frightening. It’s also expensive. Besides the cost to fix your car, obtain a rental, and receive necessary medical treatment, you must also consider the financial impact of any lost wages and income.

Understanding lost wages and income in Florida

Florida is a “no-fault” state when it comes to car accidents. This means that all drivers are required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance that will cover the cost of any accident, no matter who is determined to be at fault. 

What does this mean for you? If you’re badly hurt and have to pay multiple medical bills, there may not be any coverage left for lost income. In addition, if your lost wages and medical bills exceed the $10,000 PIP limit, you may need to seek additional compensation through other means, such as filing a claim with the other driver’s insurance company or pursuing a personal injury lawsuit.

With this in mind, you should first turn to your insurance provider for coverage of any lost wages. However, it’s important to note that Florida law limits the amount of compensation you can receive for lost wages and income through PIP insurance. Specifically, insurance is only responsible for 80% of medical bills and 60% of lost income – up to a maximum total of $10,000.

Thankfully, you may have other options to get the full compensation you deserve. For example, if another driver was responsible for the accident, you can file a claim with their insurance company for your lost wages. If this is still insufficient, you can seek further action through personal injury lawsuits.

It’s also important to note that Florida follows a “pure comparative fault” system when it comes to personal injury claims. This means that if you were partially at fault for the car accident, your compensation for lost wages and other damages may be reduced by the percentage of fault assigned to you. For example, if you were found to be 25% at fault for the accident, your compensation for lost wages and income would be reduced by 25%.

Navigating the legal system in Florida can be complex and confusing, especially if you’re dealing with the aftermath of a car accident. That’s why it’s important to work with an experienced car accident lawyer who can help you understand your rights, navigate the claims process, and fight for the compensation you deserve.

Documenting lost wages and income

You’ll need a few things to successfully make a claim for lost wages after a car accident.

The first is proof that you’re unable to work. This could be a report detailing your injuries, a doctor’s note ordering you to stay off, or any other information you have about the accident and its impact on you. 

You’ll also need to provide evidence about your actual lost wages. Insurance companies usually look at the 13 weeks prior to the accident when determining how much to pay. You’ll need to share paystubs, a W2, or other proof of your average income. 

Be sure to keep a careful record of how much work you miss. Whether you’re paid at an hourly rate or are a salaried employee, the amount of time away from work will be used to calculate your lost wages. 

Fighting for fair compensation in Central Florida

Getting the appropriate payout from your insurance company can be difficult – especially when you’re trying to physically and mentally recover from your accident. And if your medical bills and lost wages exceed the $10,000 PIP total, it’s even more challenging.

That’s why you need an experienced car accident lawyer on your side: because your insurance company is not your friend. We are. We’ve worked with hundreds of car accident victims to get the full compensation they are owed.

We’ll help you document your case, prove who was at fault for the accident, and negotiate with your insurance company. We will make the argument to ensure you receive coverage for any and all lost wages, income, and future earning potential.

With Snedaker Law on your side, you can rest easy knowing you’ll get the compensation you deserve, no matter the circumstances. Give us a call today

Personal Injury Lawyers Shannon and Tim Snedaker

Helping Florida's Injured

Snedaker Law is the One Law Firm for you

Volusia County

0 K
Products Liability

Seminole County

0 K
Construction Injury
Recent Notable Wins
Millions Recovered

Marion County

0 M
Wrongful Death

Orange County

0 M
Wrongful Death

Schedule Your
No Obligation, Free Consultation

Our Office

Contact Us Now